07
Apr
10

Baconalia! Review: Prosciutto-Wrapped Melon Balls with Three Floyds Gumballhead

Prosciutto-Wrapped Melon Balls with Three Floyds Gumballhead

First, what the heck is up with spellcheck?  It does not recognize “prosciutto” – I take issue with MS Word not recognizing a delicious pork product.  The suggestions it offers are all variants of “prostitute” and “prosecute” – even prosecco was omitted.  Oh, probably because prosecco apparently also is not a word; how sad for that delicious wine.  My mood just turned to indignant. 

Last week I covered Canadian bacon, the international bacon that betrayed me.  I do not feel any animosity toward Italy or its people!*  I feel gratitude to them for pizza, pasta,** and prosciutto!  Prosecco too.  This offering is a pretty standard appetizer/hors d’oeuvre; it’s easy, tasty, and hard to mess up.  One of the really nice things about this is that it should be served a bit chilled, so I could actually make something hours ahead of time.  I also appreciated the no-cook factor and that it didn’t add to the grease in any pan or on any kitchen surface.  This is a clean food, in a literal way.  It is still unclean for many people in a religious context.

Before going any further, I’d like to point out that these are melon BALLS.  See the picture!  For my friends, I actually went through the process of balling cantaloupe.  On the day I cooked a bajillion types of bacon, I decided it was not just reasonable, but also necessary, to add a totally extra step with only aesthetic value.  My people are worth it.  I borrowed a melon baller from one of those people, because you should probably know that I don’t actually own one.  My birthday is coming up soon though, so maybe this will be my lucky year.  I’m not sure what it says about me when my wishlist consists of a vacuum, melon baller, and megaphone.  Whatever, please just start shopping.

There isn’t much for me to say about prosciutto-wrapped melon balls.  They were what they pretty much always are: delicious.  Because they are so light, they provided a nice balance to some of my heavier options.  They are also so snackable!  This is the offering that I most noshed on while preparing; I probably had at least fifteen.  Pretty much any imperfect ball or poorly-sized strip of prosciutto went into my mouth.

If you have not yet prepared PWMB, rest assured that it actually is as easy as it sounds.  You cut a cantaloupe in half; scoop out the seeds; and using a melon baller, make a stack of melon balls.  The prosciutto gets cut into strips, each of which is wrapped around a melon ball and secured with a toothpick.  It really is that simple.  I wouldn’t prepare these days ahead, but hours was totally fine.  They chilled – literally, ha – in the fridge while I prepared everything else.  Between the balling and the wrapping, they are a little bit piddly, but it goes pretty fast. 

I paired these with Three Floyd’s Gumballhead.  Currently, this is one of my favorite beers.  It’s really light and crisp, with a strong (but not overpowering) taste of grapefruit.  It tastes clean.  The tartness of the grapefruit really complemented the sweetness of the melon, while its general lightness refrained from overpowering the prosciutto.  This is a very versatile beer, which created some internal debate for me regarding with which bacon it would best pair.  I ended up going with this one, mostly because they are both light, crisp, and clean; but also because I wanted the juxtaposition of sweet and tart.  I would definitely recommend this combination.  The nanny in me was also glad to be able to offer some fruit to my guests.  (This was one of four fruits; the other fruits were apple, date, and tomato.)

* At present

** Acknowledgment that pasta originated in China.

0 Responses to “Baconalia! Review: Prosciutto-Wrapped Melon Balls with Three Floyds Gumballhead”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Present Pontifications

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Past Pontifications

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


