13
May
10

Savings on a Home “Luxury” Item

A month or two ago my internet/cable provider decided that it would be awesome to jack up the prices for our cable boxes and internet equipment.  (You know, the stuff we basically have to rent from them.)  I understand that prices increase, but seriously?  We’re talking about almost doubling the monthly fees…and it isn’t like their service is A++ or increased at all.  Talk about me not being excited about something and probably even displeased.

Today I had some extra time on my hands, so I decided to call and have a “pleasant conversation” with a customer service rep.  After “examining my account” and verifying that, yes, I have been with them for a short enough period of time where this might seem like an unreasonable (astronomical)  increase, they offered to issue me a monthly credit FOR THE NEXT YEAR which negates most of the recent raise for me.  Woo!  (And then we talked a little longer and she gave a bit more of a credit, which was the maximum she has the authority to give me.)  Hooray for asking nicely and getting (most of) what I want!

0 Responses to “Savings on a Home “Luxury” Item”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Present Pontifications

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Past Pontifications

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


