18
Aug
10

Baconalia Review: Bacon-Wrapped Tater Tots with Cheese Dipping Sauce and Coors Light

Bacon-Wrapped Tater Tots with Coors Light

Baconalia inherently is a heart attack risk increaser.  However, I raised the bar – and my cholesterol – with this offering: bacon-wrapped tater tots with cheese dipping sauce.  Some things are worth the risk; these own that category.  When I first heard of the idea, I knew it was likely to be a BIG winner. 

For some products, I am a big fan of buying generic.  For others, I am just not really to compromise what I know.  Tater tots fall into the latter category, so I picked up a bag of the Ore Ida brand, along with a pack of Hormel Black Label Bacon – bacon is also in the “brand-specific” category.  One thing to remember when wrapping things in bacon is that as the bacon cooks, it shrinks.  So!  Don’t wrap the bacon around the tots too tautly.  Not too taut on the tot – say that five times fast.  Sometimes I like to secure the bacon with a toothpick, while other times I prefer to live on the edge.  (Note: It is not the easiest thing ever to pick a frozen tot.)  That is the entirety of the hands-on portion of the prep work for this delicious treat.   I used the tots straight from the freezer and that worked out just fine for me; the bacon was from the fridge.

I probably preheated my oven to around 400-425F and left the tots in there for 20-25 minutes, or until they were good and ready and done.  As per my usual, I placed the wrapped tots on my broiler pan. Once they were almost done, I took a jar of cheese sauce and scooped some into a sauce pan to warm.  All class, all the time.  A word of caution: tater tots fresh from the oven, with bacon and bacon grease baked into them are HOT. If you like your face, eat with caution.

I paired these tots with cans of Coors Light.  For one thing, I was being a bit of a jackass. (Aside: I did plate them on my nicest and fanciest platter; it was a gift.)  I also have a fair amount (probably 22 cans) of Coors Light that I’ve been trying to get rid of since I moved into my current digs and had a house-warming party – a solid nine months ago.  I rationalized the pairing by thinking that a food portion with such strong and salty flavors needed a light, watery beer – to keep the emphasis on the food and wash it down smoothly.

This was a fine matching, although most guests liked the tots a lot and tolerated the beer.  (I had to make a second round of tots.)  I don’t eat tots that often, but I think that going forward, I would like to consistently eat them prepared this way.

4 Responses to “Baconalia Review: Bacon-Wrapped Tater Tots with Cheese Dipping Sauce and Coors Light”


  1. August 19, 2010 at 2:05 am

    Definitely going to try this, just have to see when my doctor has an opening so I can plan accordingly. I think my cholesterol jumped 30 points just reading this… Ha! Sounds delicious!

  2. August 19, 2010 at 8:09 am

    Ummm… HELL YEAH! I don’t even like bacon or tots that much. But throw cheese sauce in there and I’ll dip whatever you have in it. And I think Coors Light is the perfect pairing for this meal.

  3. 3 kb
    August 19, 2010 at 11:05 am

    I am truly sad that I missed this!


Leave a Reply

Present Pontifications

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Past Pontifications

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


