05
Jan
11

Crock Pot Bread Pudding – Round Two

NKOTB

A couple of weeks ago, I made a sweet bread pudding in my mid-sized crockpot.  One of my friends (Suzy) was aghast that I didn’t include raisins.  I tried to explain to her that I did not include them because I don’t much like raisins in my baked goods* and I do like chocolate in my baked goods and, well, since I was the one making the baked good, I GOT MY WAY.

Some people just have very little sense.  Those same people also don’t always want to hear it.

I am not certain if I was:

a.)  convinced that I raisins deserved another chance

b.) wanted to move on from the conversation and didn’t really care

c.) intrigued by the idea of soaking raisins in rum

Whatever the reason, I decided to make another batch of crock pot bread pudding – sans chocolate, avec dead grapes.  I followed a similar recipe to last time, except with a little tweaking of the spices and the major substitution of raisins for chocolate chips.  I really liked how the coconut milk cooked in the first batch, so I used it again.  It was fine in this batch, but did not have the same positive impact as it did on the first batch.  I didn’t really notice it and nobody commented on it in a positive or negative way.  For whatever reason, this version also took a lot longer to cook.

Personally, I liked the chocolate version a lot better, both fresh from the crock and also reheated.  I shared these with different people, but the chocolate did seem to be better received.  Admittedly, this could be my prejudice against raisins, but maybe I’m onto something.  If you’d like to make the raisin version, please see below.  The recipe for the chocolate version is available here.

Recipe for Crock Pot Bread Pudding, Version 2.0 (adapted from Crockpot 365 )

– 2 c coconut milk

– 2 eggs, beaten

– 1 t vanilla

– 1 3/4 t cinnamon

-1/2 t nutmeg

– 1/2 t orange zest

– 1/4 t cloves

– 1/3 c brown sugar, packed

– ½ c raisins, soaked overnight in rum (NB: spiced rum would be better, but I didn’t have any of that, so used regular)

– Approx ½ baguette, stale, chunked up (if you baguette is fresh, you can dry it out a bit in the oven after you cut it OR plan ahead less, but enough to chunk it up and leave it out and uncovered for a few hours or overnight to hasten staling)

Combine the milk, eggs, spices, and sugar ingredients in a bowl, mix well.  (I used a fork and that was fine.)  Add bread and stir gently.  Wait a few minutes, to allow the bread to soak up the liquid, but don’t let it get too gloppy.  (Too gloppy would be falling apart; avoid this by adding using more bread.)  Once the bread has absorbed most of the liquid, fold in the raisins.  Dump it into your crock.  (My 1.5 qt was pushing it, with my amount of bread.  Steph, the crock pot lady, says you can dump it in a bowl and cook it in a large crock.)  Cook on high for 45-60  minutes and then either continue to cook it on high for another 1.5-2.5 hours or bump it down to low for another 2-4 hours.  Mine took about 1 hour on high, 3 hours on low, and then I bumped it back to high for one more hour.   Serve warm, ideally with whip cream.

*Raisins are for trail mix and constipation relief.  They are acceptable in SOME granola bars, for people who eat granola bars, but I do not eat granola bars.

0 Responses to “Crock Pot Bread Pudding – Round Two”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Present Pontifications

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Past Pontifications

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


